"Standing on the Promises of God"
GSP Church History
The Late Rev. Jeremiah H. Butler and approximately twelve members of St. Agnes Church withdrew their membership from the church because of cultural differences in the worship experience. St. Paul African Methodist Episcopal Church was officially organized by Rev. Butler on April 27th, 1896. The church was located on Evangelist Street, now known as Charles Avenue and became known as "the church up on the hill."
According to official records dated November 21st, 1896, the names of Pastor Butler, Brothers J.P. Brookins and Walter Burrows were on the abstract. In 1897 Brothers Murray Burrows, J.W. Gibson, William Counts Blackshear, James W. Williams, and Theodore McCloud were added as trustees. Pastor Butler served as the pastor for a number of years and so did Rev. McBride. Bro. J.W. Malachi served as the church clerk. Bro. William W. Gibson was a member of the Mozart Choir. Bro. Albert Gibson was the oldest member of the church at the time and he lived 108 blessed years.
It is interesting to note that the first known black school, the Dade County Training School, was established at St. Paul in 1896.
With each new pastorate, the congregation experienced growth and the addition of new ministries. Greater St. Paul has accumulated more than $8 million dollars worth of property through its Commuinty Development Corporation (C.D.C.) which has allowed us to serve the surrounding community with affordable housing.
With God's help, we shall continue to praise him and minister to his people. Through the many outreach programs, we shall continue to spread the good news of the gospel to those that know him, and to those who do not know him. To God be the glory.